A bit of our history from a Juniors, Seniors and ASA perspective.

Don Houston, a Police Officer, formed the Aitkenvale Sporting Association in the mid 1950's, as a way to give the high percentage of young kids living in the area around Illich Park, an introduction to sport and to keep them off the streets.  Sports under the banner of the ASA included Rugby League, Cricket, Vigaro and Basketball.  The Club colours were black and white and the club logo was a wolf.  Our players were originally known as the ASA Wolves.

The Centrals Senior's Club Clubhouse was situated in Queens Park in North Ward.  The Clubhouse was damaged during Cyclone Althea and was deemed to be uninhabitable.  The Council would not allow the Seniors to rebuild on the site and recommended that they relocate to Illich Park to be with the Juniors who built and owned their Clubhouse.

The most recent Centrals player who have been successful in making it to the NRL:-

Gorden Tallis   -   Aaron Payne   -   Michael Luck   -   George Gatis   -   Ray Thompson   -   Robert Lui

The Club Motto is:-   Family   -   Friends   -   Footy


Centrals Rugby League Club was founded in 1928 by young, enthusiastic rugby league players.  The majority of these players were past students of the Townsville Grammar School, under the able leadership of Dick Seldon, who was then a teacher at the Central State School.

The Club's first captain was Laurie Raleigh, a committee man and supporter of the club.  The first team was entered in the minor junior competition and besides Laurie, comprised such well-known players as Archie West, Charlie Spradou, Woop Seldon and Reg Cruickshank - all of whom later represented the town in the Senior grades.

In 1934 the Club entered the first Senior side, which comprised, for the main part, of the Juniors of the preceding year.  For a young team, they certainly gave a good account of themselves and ended up the season as runners up in the Premiership.  The Reserve Grade, captained by Frank Hooper won the Premiership in this grade.

In 1935 the Club probably experienced their best year in Senior Football when they won the Grand Premiership.  Laurie Raleigh who had played in Innisfail the previous year, had come back to Captain the Senior team and with team mates such as Harry Vause, Jack Ryan, Charlie Spradou, Clem Hinkle, the Lyons Brothers - Jack and Murray, Bill Armstrong and ther versatile Wop Pease, they were successful in winning the Premiership.  Under the leadership of Frank Hooper, they again won the Reserve Grade Premiership.  The Juniors were leaders under the Captaincy of Alex Bennett and the Minor Juniors, captained by Ikey Morrison were undefeated Premiers.

In 1936 due to the united efforts of the Club's energetic Secretary, the late Fred Wagner, the Club's first Coach, Cyril Philpott was brought to Townsville.  However luck was not with them and they ended the season as runner up in the Senior grade.

In 1937, the Seniors, with Laurie Raleigh again as Captain, were successful in winning the Senior Premiership.

In 1938, the Seniors were runners-up, whilst the Juniors were successful in winning the Premiership.  Players remembered in that grade for outstanding play were Keith Urquhart (Halfback), Doug Hague (Fullback), Ted Bell (Forward) and Allan Roberts for his ability to play in any position with success.

During 1945 - 1946 the Club again entered the Senior ranks and Army players of ability who played during those years were Bruce Hopkins - NSW and Australian Representative, Wally Jago - Babinda and NQ Representative, Jack Seary - Cairns and NQ Representative, Merv Gilmer - Sydney First Grade player and Charlie Dobson - Northern Rivers Representative.  Local players to carry on the good work for hte Club were Harold Bragg and Harry Ahearn.  In 1946 the Club won the Junior grade competition under the leadership of Max Hooper.

In 1947, Centrals were instrumental in bringing Noel White, an International Winger and one of the best crowd pleasers ever to play at the Townsville Sports Reserve, to town.  Noel molded a young and inexperienced team into a premiership side and probably the best Senior side since the inauguration of the Club.

After returning from the 1948 - 1949 Kangaroo Tour, "Frosty" Benton took over the coaching of the club.  That year Centrals were runners up to Souths in the Senior grade and the Club's Minor Juniors, Captained by Bill Cormack and coached by Bert Heery, won the Minor Junior Premiership.  Also that year, the Sub-Minor Grade was established and the Centrals team was successful in winning the Premiership in this grade, mainly due to the untiring efforts of the coach - L Donald.

In 1966, Townsville Rugby League Inc. passed a resolution that only Senior Clubs with a Junior base would be eligible to play in the Senior competition.  This resulted in the Centrals Senior Rugby League Club merging with the Junior Aitkenvale Sporting Association, forming the Centrals ASA Junior Rugby League Club and Centrals ASA Senior Rugby League Club.

This brings us to today.  Players, Committee and Supporters of the Club look back with pride on the efforts of those who have gone before and look forward to achieving every success in the years ahead. 

We Support